6/30/2014

Eternal family,

I just read your email. Thank you for sharing those miracles with me mom! I so appreciate your eternal, ever trusting perspective. Right now, I feel a little bit like Martha and Mary after Lazarus died. Even though I know that all will be well and made up eventually, even though our fate is not as bad as Job or Joseph Smith or even the Savior, things seem a little bit bleak. Mostly, I wish I could be there with y’all to lift and strengthen and just offer a hug or a smile or listen to the concerns or just cry together. I keep thinking of a scene from the movie ‘Charly’ when she explains her painting of the Savior weeping. Charly tells Sam that before Christ raised Lazarus from the dead, he wept with Martha and Mary. One of the things I love most about the Savior is that he is compassionate and he allows us to grieve and experience sadness. He doesn’t tell us to stop crying, but he cries with us, he holds us and comforts us, THEN he performs the miracle.

Why did Lazarus have to die if the Savior would raise him from the dead? Mary and Martha didn’t ask for Jesus to raise Lazarus from the dead, but they trusted that he would make the situation better even though he didn’t do what they were hoping for first. Remember that they had sent for Jesus when their beloved brother became ill and they knew that Jesus had the power to heal him, they didn’t understand that he possessed the power to overcome death, and he waited for Lazarus to pass so that he could teach them the full power that he has to over come not only physical death, but also spiritual death or sin.

We want(ed) the Lord to “heal” our financial situation, which is a righteous desire because we are being wrongfully accused, but maybe the Lord is allowing us to be wronged so that he can perform an even greater miracle in our lives and we have to experience this so that we can come to be more humble and trust in him and his power which is even greater than we have yet seen.

I don’t know, these are just my thoughts which have come as I am typing. I do know that the Lord loves us and He desires us to be happy here on earth, right now, and also in the eternities. I know that He will continue to take care of us and I know that I am going to chose to remain faithful to Him, in fact, I intend to increase my obedience to be more exactly obedient and follow my Savior more closely and invite the spirit even more into my life so that I may be sanctified and literally become more like my Savior, to receive his light more fully in my life by helping others to move toward it and accept it more in their lives and by my exact obedience.

How humbling and invigorating it has been to have Sister Olsen around the past half a week. I love how energized and excited and involved she is. Sometimes she kind of bursts my personal bubble so she can look at what I’m studying at the same time. It makes me laugh. I truly appreciate her engaging nature even though it is pushing the limits on my personal space 😉 ha ha! Sister Olsen has such a powerful testimony of our Savior Jesus Christ and she is so passionate about living the gospel and helping others to do the same. We are working hard and having fun together as well. The weird thing is that we are often on the same brain wave, and we end up finishing each other’s sentences…. She is a fabulous teacher too and there is much that I need to learn from her.

Oh, and by the way, my violin had some trauma occur due to extreme weather conditions (heat in the car) and needs some fixing. There are members here who know who can fix it though. I have to tell you how my heart just sunk way down to the pit of my stomach when I opened my case and saw the bridge and the tail piece free of the body and the chord which holds it snapped. I was in shock for a good minute. I couldn’t even fathom what my eyes saw. But the members tell me that it can be fixed. All I am hoping now is that it is not too expensive.

Watching the missionaries going home was a little bit hard for me because I know it is coming soon, and I don’t want to leave. My goal for the next few months is to give all I’ve got and then some to and for others and most importantly the Lord. My focus is on others 100%. Ain’t nobody got time to think about themselves. This is crunch time, not the time to slow down or let off the gas, this is the time to pick up the pace and dash faster and faster to the end giving everything leaning on the Savior. He is my light and my strength and all things are possible through him! If there is anything that I can do to help you President, I hope you know that you can call on me. I am ready and willing to do what ever you ask.

Sister Olsen and I seem to be reaping everything that has been sown for that past while here in Madison. We both decided that we are going to focus on finding so that we can reap as we sow and so there won’t be stages of just finding.

You know, sometimes I wish that I could serve for 2 years because just when I feel like I am finally getting everything, all of the the points of effective missionary work in a good working order, in good balance and finally seem to be moving forward and making progress without dropping anything. Not saying that I am perfect, at all. I have so much to learn and improve in, but I am finally getting to the point, I feel like, where I can pick it up and keep moving forward instead of feeling like I am derailed every time I find something I need to work on. I guess the most important thing though is taking all of these skills and taking them home to be the best member missionary and wife and mother, who raises her family to be missionaries, I can be. Right? I have been thinking about that for a while now. I think that hastening the work is more of the surge of missionaries who are coming out learning how to dedicate their time talents energy, everything to living and serving in the gospel and truly giving our will to God so that we can return to the “real” world and be a strong source and influence in the world for good and to teach our children, family, friends and the rest of the world the peace and joy that come from living the way the Lord has set for us.

Well there you have it, my brain explosion…

There is quite a bit of potential for families joining the church down here! (And they are black which is one of my visions… to help find, teach and baptize a black family.)

The church is true. Joseph Smith is one of my biggest heroes. I know that he is a prophet called of God and that all that he claims truly happened. Because I know this, I know that the Book of Mormon and the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints is true and I feel a responsibility to share it with the rest of the wold (aka my brothers and sisters).

I love yall with all of my heart!
Continuing to endure,
your Sister(daughter, friend etc…) Wright

Christian Soldier for life!

Leave a Reply

