6/23/2014

Dearest family,

Amazing how quickly time passes, didn’t it? We are finishing up yet another transfer. Wednesday Sister Downs and I will go to Birmingham with the Sister training leaders to transfer meeting. Sister Downs will be receiving a new area and companion and I will pick up my new companion and head back with the Sister training leaders to Madison.

Sister Downs and I have had such a great time this transfer, working hard and having fun while doing it. We had our disagreements, but we learned to put our will and pride aside and turn to the Lord. We learned how to communicate well and keep the spirit. With each new transfer, I feel like I am being chiseled in more detail. I am sad that Sister Downs is leaving. We finally got to the point where we work pretty effectively together, and we have had a blast. I will keep in touch with her and we will be friends probably for the rest of our lives. I have so much respect for Sister Downs. She is such a dedicated, hard working missionary.

This last Saturday we got to attend the baptism of an investigator that Sister Downs helped find and teach. The funny thing is that this man’s wife is actually the one who wanted to get baptized first, he was actually kind of hardened against it and the last thing he wanted was to get baptized, yet the spirit told him that he needed to be baptized and so he decided to do it and he was so excited. On the day that he got baptized and also on the next day when he was confirmed in sacrament meeting, he had a huge smile which reached from ear to ear. What a precious experience to see a man who was so burdened with things of the world and hard circumstances was freed from all of it by taking part in the Atonement of His personal Savior. This recent convert’s wife (who wanted to get baptized first) only needs to come to church one more time and then she will be getting baptized and the goal is to have her husband be able to baptize her! This couple is so amazing! Their faith is so inspiring and I am so glad that Sister Downs was able to see Matt get baptized before she left and hopefully will get to come back for Jade’s as well.

We have done tonz of tracting and contacting and so we will be following up with all of them in the next week as we continue to find and invite. I think I will probably stay here in Madison until I come home in about 128 days. I am reading the Doctrine and Covenants backwards. Yall are welcome to join me.

Did y’all get my letters? That is awesome about the new family/couple! Where did they move from? What is Kim’s maiden name? Where did she grow up? When does Caleb Veenker enter the mission field?

I hope Caleb feels better soon! I know that is miserable, and I hope you get some better sleep too mom! You are so amazing! I love you so much!

There was one day that made us laugh. We rode our bikes to the library for media time and as we were locking them up to the rack we heard a woman, who was sitting on the bench about 5 feet away, talking on the phone. Her conversation was about a woman who had attended church who bore testimony about how she had “gotten out of the Mormon religion” and how amazed this woman was (who was talking on the phone) because that was “never heard of” and she is “so against Mormonism!” This woman was asking for the “ex-mormon’s” name so that she could talk to her and hear more about that. I wanted to go over and talk to the lady and ask if she had any questions about The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, what she actually knows about it, because the way she was talking, she had no idea what we are even about or what we teach. At one point she said a very true statement that made Sister Downs and I laugh the most, because it’s true. “Those Mormon’s just won’t leave you alone.” Ha ha! This is true, but she doesn’t understand why, it is because we love all of God’s children and want them to be close to Him. I was hoping to be able to explain this to her, but she wouldn’t even look at us as we slowly passed her to go into the building and she was still on the phone. I hope that I will be able to run into her again and be able to help clear up the misconceptions she has about the church, then she will probably get baptized…. 😉 well at some point I am sure she will. I am SO glad that God is not a clip board God!

Well I need to go, I love y’all will all my heart! Have a wonderful week!

Love, Sister Wright

Leave a Reply

