6/2/2014

Dear Family,

Memorial day was fun. We had preparation day and I did a puzzle and then we had dinner at a member’s house where we roasted hot dogs and marshmallows around a fire. The kids were burning their homework from the school year. Then we had correlation meeting with our ward mission leader.

Yay for the end of school! Learning is great, but everyone needs a break now and then. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Yeah, all of the member’s kids practically run circles around us when we go over to their houses for dinner and to have lessons about hastening the work. They are so cute though! sometimes I think about what my kids will be like, and what I want to teach them. Then I start thinking about how I am going to find a husband who I will be able to be equally yoked with and who has the same vision as I do, then I start thinking about dating and it just makes me nervous, so I stop and quickly go back to the bliss of being a single missionary. ๐Ÿ˜‰ The scary thing is that that is the next stage of my life and it is coming faster and faster. But for now, I am focused on our investigators and helping them to progress. Any thoughts? It is ok to tell me that I am silly and immature…

I wanted to share with you some things I learned this week.
Sundays are so rich with the spirit! Especially Fast Sundays! The Lord is SO good to us president! Yesterday Sister Downs and I heard our names specifically mentioned over the pulpit three times, were offered a glorious Sunday meal to break our fast, sent home with home made bread and strawberry jam and we even had an investigator come to church! Heavenly Father sure knows how to help one feel loved and appreciated!

I was reading in 3 Ne. 28 and I realized what a perfect example of Lagniappe the 3 Nephite disciples are. This is when Jesus asks his disciples what they desire of him before he returns to the Father. Nine of the disciples said, “We desire that after we have lived unto the age of man, that our ministry, wherein thou hast called us, may have an end, that we may speedily come unto thee in they kingdom.” This is a righteous desire and Jesus promises to grant their wishes unto them, BUT then he turns to the last three and asks them. “And they sorrowed in their hearts, for they durst not speak unto him the thing which they desired. And he said unto them: Behold, I know your thoughts, and ye have desired the thing which John, my beloved, who was with me in my ministry, before that I was lifted up by the Jews, desired of me. Therefore, more blessed are ye, for ye shall never taste of death; but ye shall live to behold all the doings of the Father unto the children of men, even until all things shall be fulfilled according to the will of the Father, when I shall come in my glory with the powers of heaven. And again, ye shall not have pain while ye shall dwell in the flesh, neither sorrow save it be for the sins of the world; and all this will I do because of the thing which ye have desired of me, for ye have desired that ye might bring the souls of men unto me, while the world shall stand. And for this cause ye shall have fullness of joy; and ye shall sit down in the kingdom of my Father; yea, your joy shall be full, even as the Father hath given me fullness of joy; and ye shall be even as I am, and I am even as the Father; and the Father and I are one;” These three disciples of Christ pretty much define Lagniappe. They are pure in heart and have their wills aligned with the Savior’s and the Fathers. Jesus even says so in that last part when he says that he and the Father are one. When we truly give our will to God, we truly become more like He is. There are plenty of examples of men and women who have done this in the scriptures. They are truly converted and told by the Savior that they have a sure seat in the highest glory because they have surrendered their will to that of the Father’s.

I am coming to see and understand more that this is the true test of life, to give our will to God’s and be happy about it. We have to give it willingly. I decided about a month ago that I am waging an all out war against Satan which if successful, will last my entire life. I have likewise decided to give my whole will and trust over to the Savior and to my Father in Heaven. As I have begun to do so, I have felt a distinctive change in my way of thinking and reasoning and also in my motivation and determination to do everything I have been asked and then some because that is what the Savior did and does and that is what will bring me peace, happiness and eternal glory. It is my prayer that I may be an example for others around me and that they way catch the vision.

I am sorry that my emails tend to be a little lengthy… I just want to share one more Emmaus experience with you:
Yesterday in sacrament meeting we got to wait for the priests to break the bread after singing the sacrament hymn. It wasn’t annoying or embarrassing, but rather a nice, quiet time to reflect on the power of the priesthood, the worthiness of those who hold it and the sacred covenant which I have made and renew each week. It hit me how much trust the Lord has in us and how special it is to belong to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints which has the true, direct power and permission of God to perform saving ordinances or acts which demonstrate our willingness to obey the will of the Lord. The young men who bless and pass the sacrament seem to understand and take seriously their priesthood duties. I am grateful for the power and authority which has been delegated to me as a missionary called by a prophet and set apart as a disciple of Jesus Christ to represent Him and sustain his prophet on the earth today. I know that the priesthood was restored through Joseph Smith and that God loves His children. “The more we ponder [the sacrament’s] significance, the more sacred it becomes to us.” (‘True to the Faith’ pg. 147)

“People forget what you said. They forget what you did. But no one will forget how you helped them feel.” (unknown)

Obedience give us confidence!

Love y’all forever! Have a fabulous week!

Love, sister Wright

Leave a Reply

