4/14/2014

Dear family,

I am doing so well! The Lord is so good! I love being a missionary! I love the sun and the spring! (did y’all ever think y’all would hear me say that… ? Neither did I…. ha ha! šŸ˜‰

This week was quite the adventure!!!

Sister M’s bike tire went flat as we were riding to go see a referral (who ended up being a less active member living with a non member) her tube had a hole or something and wouldn’t hold air, so we waked to a member’s house who was nearby and she helped us. We had correlation meeting and then we had dinner and a lesson with a part member family. We watched 2 Mormon messages about The plan of Salvation and temples and then we talked about the importance of temples and the plan of Salvation. The spirit was so strong. As I was explaining the celestial kingdom, the spirit gave me an idea. I explained to the non member, that the temple is a window into the celestial kingdom. The spirit testified to John(non member) that what we were saying is true and we invited him to read and pray to know if it is true. It was incredible! That is what makes a mission worth it, those precious moments where I don’t teach, but the spirit teaches and I just helped to invite him and create an atmosphere where he could come.

The Lord answers prayers! We went contacting in the mall and we prayed very specifically for him to help us reach our goal of talking to 7 people in a certain store in the mall. You know, we talked to 7 people before we even reached the store!!! I love the Lord SO MUCH!!!! I testify that He answers prayers!

After the mall, we went to try to see S. because I couldn’t get her name out of my mind. She wasn’t home, but as we were driving other there, I thought of a less active sister who lives close to S., so we called and asked if we could go see her. When we got to her house she told us that she was having a rough day. She explained that she had just had to end a very long friendship with someone. We sat there and just listened to her for a while and I prayed that the Lord would help me know what to say. Finally, when she had finished, and I opened my mouth, all that came out was that I asked her what song she really liked, what song made her happy. At first, she said she couldn’t think of any but then after I explained that we had gone and played for an elderly lady and that I had my violin with me, she remembered what song she loves, How Great Thou Art. So, my wonderful companion grabbed my violin for me from the car and I proceeded to play that beautiful song which soothes the soul as well as some others.

This sister’s neighbor and her grandson were out and they came over to listen as well. My companion pulled out a scripture to help calm her heart and then we offered a prayer. This sister expressed to us how grateful she was and told us how perfect our timing was. That is how perfect the Lord’s timing is and how aware he is of His precious children.

Our organ player is getting married and moving to Virginia, so I am learning how to play so that I can help out the branch who now has no one who knows how to play the organ, and only limited piano players. The organ is actually pretty sweet and I have always wanted to learn to play it. It is so cool! For real y’all!

I don’t quite know how to summarize this, from my journal, so I will have to quote it for y’all….

“Epic day! I’m not quite sure how to express or explain all that happened, but I will say that Sister M. and I have a pretty great relationship. One of our referrals ended up being a member. One of the members went all the way out to Perish to see an older, semi less active sister with us and we got to know her more. This Sister told us about a second marriage she had and how she helped the children in that family. She is so faithful and converted(she recently come back into activity and went through the temple for real) Love her so much and look up to her a ton!
This morning I studied about enduring and was reminded of one of my favorite children’s books “Going on a bear hunt” because I feel like I’m running through deep mud but I can’t go over it, I can’t go under it, I have to go through it, but I am not alone. What a gorgeous day it was today! Sister M curled my hair and I did hers.
I know w/out a doubt, that the Book of Mormon is true, it is the word of God.”

Saturday we had interviews with president Hanks. He told me he is proud of me and kind of reviewed with me where I have served and who with and pointed out that I have affected/influenced the whole mission because of the sisters whom I served with and helped and trained and how they have gone all over the mission and influenced countless others. He told me that he is proud of me and I should be pleased when I look back on what I have done with certain companions. That was neat. I am going to work harder and strive to find even more people to teach!

I am studying in 3 Nephi about all the destruction and the voice of the Lord coming to the people. Wow! If only they would have repented BEFORE the great and terrible day of the Lord…

I did get my medication. Thank you mom and Sarah SO MUCH! I loved the cute little package with the candy (my favorites) and the letters! Y’all are the best and seriously life savers! šŸ˜€ Sarah, I am going to be writing you back, don’t worry. where is Zack going on his mission?

The work continues to progress and move forward here in Alabama, yet there are a lot of people who are still so hard hearted against the message of the restoration. Something that I have found is that members are VITAL and ESSENTIAL to the work of the lord! I invite everyone to wear their religion on their sleeve and be prepared to answer questions that non members may ask or be prepared to refer them to the missionaries in the area. Many people judge us because they don’t know what really goes on inside our buildings and homes. Invite them to come and see as President Uchtdorf told us to do in a previous conference. Help them to feel the spirit and it will be familiar to them and they will want that in their own life!

This last week my companion and I were in the park, and I had my violin and was playing hymns. There was an older gentleman who stopped and asked me what my favorite religious song was. He introduced himself and asked me if I wanted to be on TV. This man and his wife record and produce episodes on a TV channel about Special places and people. This last Saturday, they met us at the park again and recorded me playing the violin and my companion singing and also interviewed us about who we are, what we do etc… I testify that the Lord has given us talents for a reason. We should be looking for ways to improve and to share them for the blessing of others lives. Y’all will be able to watch the episode online at http://www.walkerwebtw.com. We don’t know when it will be on yet, but when I find out I will let y’all know so y’all can watch it. šŸ˜‰

I know that Joseph Smith saw God the Father and His Son, our Savior, Jesus Christ. I know that the Book of Mormon is the word of God and that President Thomas S. Monson is His chosen prophet on the earth today. I so testify in the sacred name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

Thank y’all so much!!!

Keep going strong and always repent and trust in the Lord!

Love, Sister Anna Wright

Leave a Reply

