2/24/2014

Wow, I am not even sure where to begin. So much has happened.

We had two investigators come to church this Sunday and they are progressing!!!!! The work is so fun out here because it is moving forward. People actually keep their commitments and they truly want to learn more about the gospel! What a refreshing change it has been!

I love Jasper so much! The Lord has blessed me to have an attitude of selflessness. I don’t care what I learn or gain from my companion, the area or anything else, as much as I care what I can give to all of that and the Lord. My greatest and only desire is to serve in the way that the Lord needs me to. I am so happy and so much at peace!

We have taught lessons and tracted and just worked hard and it feels so good to have work to do. I love being able to work with Sister Nelson! She is a hard worker and we have a lot of fun together while doing the work! We are really able to support each other and to help each other feel like the beautiful, wonderful, talented daughters of our Heavenly Father that we are.

How am I SO BLESSED!???!! I am serving the Lords as a full time missionary and I am His daughter. I know that He loves me and that in and of itself is enough to be overwhelmed with gratitude! Wow! Change is so refreshing.

Thank you for always following the direction of the Holy Ghost and sending us where the Lord wants us to go.

I love Jasper. I know that this has come so quickly (the minute I got here) and has stayed so far because of the attitude that the Lord has helped me in having as I have come here. I feel so grateful and blessed and privileged to be here at this time and with this companion. I know why I am here. Every minute of every day from the time I wake up, to the time I retire to bed, every thought, every prayer goes something like this, “Dear Father in Heaven, Thank thee SO much for sending me here to Jasper! I am so grateful to be here and able to serve in any way that I am able. I am here to serve thee and they children. It is my desire to give all that I have to this work and focus on others (arrows out). I thank thee for supporting me so far and pray that thou wilt continue to do so as I focus on strengthening everyone else around me.”

This attitude has changed my life. I do not think that I have ever been able to truly live and practice this principle so fully in my life. (I am sure it is nothing compared to being a parent…. but it is probably more than I have ever done or been before and it is all because of HIM)

Sister Nelson is so great! I love her with all of my heart and I am learning so much from her! Every day, I do every thing I can to show and tell her what a great missionary she is and can be and how much I love and appreciate and look up to her. She has done the same for me and I really appreciate the open, trusting relationship that the Lord has graciously allowed us to have.

The spirit is just pouring over and we have had so many sweet teaching moments with investigators and in finding new people. We went tracting my first day here near the church and the first house that someone answered, was a member of the church who had not been to church in 22 years. She had joined when she was in Mississippi and then moved and never came to church. We don’t even have her records. She is so excited to come back to church and she has non members living with her (her children) and we are going to be teaching them all on Tuesday.

There is a young lady who is living with them who is engaged to marry this sister’s son (who is in Korea) and we invited all of them to read the Book of Mormon. When we stopped by yesterday to see how they were doing, she (the son’s fiancé) said that she had read a little bit of the Book of Mormon! They are all planning on coming to church this next week.

We also had two investigators at church. The work is progressing here! I am so grateful to be able to labor here and with these people!

Sister Nelson tells everyone that I play the violin, I have already begun to use it. We went and played our instruments at the park on a nice day. There were several people running around the track and they stopped and listened and told us they would come and listen to us for hours while they walked/ran the track. (We played Joseph Smith’s first vision and other hymns) We are going to be going back probably once a week. I am so grateful for music and how quickly it invites the Spirit of the Lord (good, uplifting music) and I am even more grateful for the talents which I have been blessed with to share such music with others. He is the one who gives me the strength and knowledge and ability. I give Him and my parents all of the credit.

Amazing things are happening! The work is really progressing so fast and well here in Jasper. I am seeing the missionary that the Lord has been shaping me into and sometimes I am surprised at the boldness that I show as I strive to follow the Spirit.

Yesterday in Gospel Principles, which my companion and I were teaching, one of the members who joined, told an experience and after he finished, the spirit was so strong, I could have cut it with a knife, no exaggeration. My companion was about to begin talking again, but I knew that we could not ignore the spirit. I knew that everyone in the room was feeling it and I needed to point it out (even though it is always potentially awkward). We had an investigator there and I just had to do it, so I stopped my companion before she could begin and I asked everyone to pay attention to that feeling and then I told them what it was, that they were feeling the Holy Ghost and that He was testifying of truth, that what they had just heard was true.

The branch here is already putting me right to work. I have been practicing the piano (hymns) and the Lord has allowed me to be able to play better than I could. I am by no means very good at all, but He helps me to hold it well enough together so that I may play for groups of people to be able to sing along. It is a miracle that I never thought would be possible!

I love y’all so much! 😉 and I know that our Father in Heaven loves you even more (although it is hard to imagine because I love you SO much!) I pray that He will keep y’all in the right way and that when my 8 months is up, we will be reunited as brothers and sisters in the Gospel of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints and be able to rejoice over all of the great things that the Lord has done for us!

The Gospel of Jesus Christ is perfect and perfectly true! Living by it’s teachings will bring the greatest happiness! I know because I have lived by these standards and I have seen people who haven’t, make changes and decide to live it and they have testified to me of the happiness that it brings that far outweighs that of before.

Love forever and forever strong,

Sister Anna Wright (a representative of Jesus Christ)

Leave a Reply

