11/18/2013

“Precious Savior, dear Redeemer, Thy sweet message now impart. May thy Spirit, pure and fervid, enter ev’ry timid heart; Carry there the swift conviction, turning back the sinful tide.

Precious Savior, dear Redeemer, May each soul in thee abide. Precious Savior, dear Redeemer, We are weak but thou art strong In thy infinite compassion, stay the tide of sin and wrong. Keep thy loving arms around us; keep us in the narrow way.

Precious Savior, dear Redeemer, let us never from thee stray. Precious Savior, dear Redeemer, Though wild bind the broken heart. Let not sorrow overwhelm us; Dry the bitter tears that start. Curb the winds and calm the billows; Bid the angry tempest cease. Precious Savior, dear Redeemer, Grant us everlasting peace.”

As I finished reading your very uplifting email, this beautiful hymn came into my mind. I was working on learning a piano arrangement of this hymn before I came out the Alabama. Such a beautiful and calming hymn! I am so grateful for the hymns as well as the ability which our human minds have of memorizing things that are precious and that we want to remember!

President Hanks always says that we should memorize things that are beautiful to us because that makes them ours, that makes them apart of us! He has memorized so many beautiful poems that have changed my life!

This week has been quite improved from the past. R. , a very amazing, very faithful miracle of a young woman was baptized and confirmed on Saturday and Sunday. The Talladega branch is just loving her! We have all been praying and fasting and working for growth here for several months and she is the answer to our prayers! Her faith is so inspiring and she makes me want to be even better, more faithful!

We had some complications with filling the font, and it was cutting it pretty close, but it all worked out and her family was able to make it in time and the font was able to fill up just in time. The water heater wasn’t working, so we had to boil some water in pots and pans and try to warm the water that way, but still it wasn’t very warm…

When she came out and I wrapped the towel around her, I asked her how she felt and she got this huge smile on her face the laced her eyes and she said, “Wonderful! I feel AMAZING!” The next morning when she was confirmed was incredible!

This work is so important! This work changes lives! Don’t hesitate to share with our brothers and sisters! Every time I don’t stop and talk to someone, I think about something I heard once, What do you think that person will say to you after this life? maybe something like “Why didn’t you share this with me? You knew this precious truth, you had this gem and you were too selfish not to tell me about it or offer it to me?!” How terrible I would feel.

The other day Sister Smith and I were just walking down the street on our way to a member’s house to teach them a lesson about the temple. As we were walking I saw a lady working in her yard and I thought “we should talk to her” but sister smith was talking to me and then I thought, “well you already passed her and it would be rude to interrupt sister smith” then I KNEW that I had to go talk to her. I immediately stopped, turned, waited for a car to pass before crossing the street and then crossed without even speaking a word to sister smith.

We approached her and offered to help her. she refused, but we got talking and actually had a conversation for about 10 minutes. She has a big family and she actually knows about the missionaries, she knew a member who they used to live with who has since moved. We were able to set up a time to go back and teach her and her family! I am SO grateful for the spirit and that my studies that morning prepared me for that moment to show the Lord that I will obey!

K. didn’t come to church this Sunday, her aunt wanted her to go with her to her church and see if she likes it. It is so hard that she doesn’t really have the support of her family. We are going to keep trying, we will have to set her baptism date back to next month, but she really needs y’all’s prayers! She knows this is true she needs the strength to act on it.

I love y’all so much and I pray for y’all every day! I will let y’all know next week what is going on so you know where to send my package. Did I ask for a Sudoku book? and stamps? that would be great! But if all you can send is pictures, that is perfect!

Take care my dear ones!

Love your daughter, sister, friend, and fellow servant of the Lord! Steadfast in Christ and Forever Strong!

Y’all are AMAZING!!! I hope y’all know that! y’all are my heroes and I brag about y’all all the time! 😉

Still need to hear from ya!

Sister Wright

Leave a Reply

