8/11/2013

Familia!

My week was….. a little bit challenging and different than the usual. August is the most hot, humid month in the South. My thyroid decided that it doesn’t like that too much and my body decided that it can’t keep up with all the bike riding and walking and just pushing and going constantly.

I spent two whole days in bed. I received a ton of love and phone calls from the mission president’s wife and my angel of a companion served me meals in bed and kept me equipped with water and other little things to help me be more comfortable. It was rather difficult for me especially when we counted and reported our numbers for each day and then the week.

I felt like a failure as a trainer and just as a missionary, but President Hanks and Sister Hanks came to see us at our apartment one evening. Just a surprise visit, we had just arrived at home not 5 minutes earlier and just hung up with the Zone Leaders when we received a call from President and Sister Hanks asking if they could come see us. I just fell on the floor completely worn out and not sure what to think.

When they arrived they sat down and talked with us. They told me that they were very worried about me and so we talked about how I was doing and what we needed to do. They brought us treats and fruit.

Sister Hanks gave me strict orders to let my body rest and not to ride my bike. President told me somewhat of the same thing, that the Lord doesn’t expect us to run faster than we have strength and echoed what my parents told me when Sister Hanks had them call me a day or two earlier, which was, my best is not the same as anyone else’s best. The Lord is proud of me and my efforts and I need to take care of my body and not push too hard.

I keep hearing that the Lord gave me this issue for a reason and I need to deal with it. So it has been quite humbling, but a great learning experience and I have been able to draw closer to those that we are teaching and see how the Lord is able to use me and work through me out here.

The food is so good! Ha ha! We don’t eat a ton of things that are really southern, but this week the best thing I ate was a bowl that I just threw in a big random mixture of things. Sister Sheffer and I got home one evening after going to a meeting and we hadn’t eaten dinner yet, so we just threw a bunch of random stuff together. We had chex cereal, milk, peanut butter, chocolate syrup, cut up apples, grapes and bananas. It was surprisingly really good. Another night I decided to do the same thing except for no fruit and I added vanilla yogurt. Yum!!!

People out here know how to cook some good food! Mmm girl! Yams are cooked a lot! Ooo Golden Coral has some mighty fine and delicious southern dishes. I am going to learn how to cook some of this good food and I will make it for you someday!

I love that about y’all! I love how y’all just care so much about people and you have no fear, but just waltz up or over to anyone and carry on a conversation that uplifts everyone! Thank you for your continued and recommitted effort to bless others lives and to share the gospel! Y’all are truly inspiring!

It was great to hear your voice this week mom, I want to thank you so much for everything you did to help me! Sister Hanks was so sweet to have you call me. That was just what I needed and I have replayed your voice over in my head when I have been having a hard time falling asleep this past week. Yours and dad’s voices have put me to sleep! I remember how you used to come in my room at night and sing hymns and primary songs to me to help me fall asleep! Every time I sing ‘Have I Done Any Good’ I think of you and how you taught me that song. I memorized it because you would sing it to me and that is often the first song that pops into my head!

Yesterday after church, the other capitol sisters and Sister H and Brother L and a member’s niece who has been visiting and going out with us came with us to a nursing and rehab facility where one of our members lives and we sang hymns for them. They loved it! They all begged us to come back. Next time we want the Elders to go, It felt so good to be able to do something for the people who have lived great lives and given so much and are now often forgotten.

I love visiting nursing and rehab places because it reminds me of where I used to work as a CNA and I just feel so much love for the residents. I wished I could have played a violin for them, but I got to sing instead and I loved it! I am so grateful for that talent that I am able to exercise and try to improve.

I have been singing more this transfer than ever before, probably, and I have received many compliments from many people. I never thought my voice was anything special, I just took some pride in the fact that I can read music and hit the right notes and I can sing alto… I have been singing Soprano lately and Sister Sheffer told me the other day that I am something special and that she really enjoys hearing me sing and that she has not seen a limit to my range yet… I never thought I would hear that said about me… but don’t worry, I am not letting any of it go to my head, I am sending it all heavenward and I spend a little longer on my knees thanking my Father for allowing me to bless others lives through these talents.

We had an investigator with a baptismal date, but she kind of disappeared off the face of the earth. I was so puzzled because I felt her spirit and we had a connection. She is a kindred spirit. I knew something had to be wrong, she wouldn’t just drop us. We found out this week after trying to contact her almost every day and stopping by, that she has been in the hospital. She burst her eardrum while trying to get a bug out of her ear.

We finally got in contact with her and we went to see her this morning. She is so strong! What an incredible woman! She is being hit hard with things right now. She reminds me of Harriet Tubman and Ruth and all of the strong women in history who fought for the right and had such incredible, unshakable faith in God! We are praying for her to be able to set a new baptismal date.

We talked today about how Satan has been throwing everything hard at her ever since she set her baptism date. I love this woman SO MUCH! I feel such a connection to her! Every time I see her, I see her dressed in white, with her family in the temple! This woman is a precious daughter of our Heavenly Father, she is my sister and I am going to do everything I can to help her make it through the gate of baptism and stay on that path leading to the temple!

FAITH that is a word that president hanks kept emphasizing in the blessing he gave to me. I studied that today. Faith leads to action. Faith opens our eyes. Faith brings us good comfort, but it is not the end, it is only the beginning of a glorious journey that only brings joy, eternal joy!

Romans 8: 35-37 “Who shall separate us from the love of Christ…… we are more than conquerors through Him that loved us!”

Galatians 2:20 We are crucified with Christ and only one survives, because He lives through us.

Love y’all with all of my heart! I love hearing about how small the world is and it just keeps getting smaller. We are all one huge family and children with divine potential. Let us see one another not as we are, or who we were, but as who God sees that we can become! Let us see each other in White and treat one another as who we should be.

Take care of your sleeves and remember to study the words of Christ! (have y’all read the article in the August ensign about scripture study?) Keep the faith and we will be reunited again still brothers and sisters in Christ!

Love most dearly,

Sister Wright (HMS)

Sending lots of hugs and kisses y’all’s way!

Have tonz of fun at Disney Land with Kyli! 😉

Leave a Reply

