6/17/13

Hello dearest family!

How y’all doin? I am just letting you know that transfers were great! I am actually still in Capitol ward (Yay!!!!), but my new comp and I have been blessed with a new apartment in a very nice part of town and a new car (beautiful white).

My trainee is Sister Lewis, a real sweetheart! We are getting along so well. Sister Houston and her companion we will be working closely with as we are in the same ward. We also now have Elders in our ward! It is a great time to be a missionary!

My new address is:

7824 Taylor Park Rd Apt C

Montgomery, AL 36117

Love y’all so much! Keep the faith and stay strong ya hear?!

Your daughter, sister, friend, Sister Wright

My dear mother. I have a few stories from this week that I will share, and a few pictures.

First off. I will be sending dad’s Father’s day card in the mail today. Sorry it will be late! I want dad to know that I love him so much and I am so grateful for him! He taught me how to work, work hard, and work hard till the job was done the right way. I love him for that.

My dad is the best dad in the whole world. He taught me to trust in and to develop my relationship with my Father in Heaven. He continues to teach me and remind me to enjoy life and to respect people, their property and to think of others! That has served me so well out here in AL.

Dad taught me to appreciate sports and being active. He taught me to clean up and be organized, to create an atmosphere where the spirit can dwell. I Love my dad because he taught me so much. Because he loves me and I know that he always will. I know that my dad is here for me and I can count on him.

Thank you dad! You are the GREATEST! I love you and I am sending you a bazillion HMS right now. I wish I had remembered to bring those pictures with me. I want the one where we are hugging and I have my eyes closed and you are kissing my forehead. That is how I feel about my dad. I am excited to be able to receive your hugs again. Right now I am working hard to be able to feel worthy, and to deserve those hugs! You should make a mormon.org profile! Maybe they will make a movie about you! 😉 I would!

What an amazing week! I am so sad President is leaving us, but way excited for the new President and his wife and also for the announcement this next Sunday!

I know that the Lord is with me and is strengthening me! The fact that I wake up every morning at 6:30 and last all day until it is time for bed is a miracle! My hypothyroidism makes it really difficult, but I know that the Lord is helping me and I am so grateful! With the Lord, ANYTHING is possible!

Watch these videos on mormon.org: Ness (aerial performer), Ingrid (amputee), Patrice (Australian singer) and more. They are addictive. Ask Bishop Vinker is y’all can get mormon.org cards at the church and then write down a video you like and the number of the local missionaries and tell them about it.

You can say something like this, “Hey have you heard of mormon.org? It is a website that the church puts out and you can go there to find out more about our church, but they also have these really cool videos about members of our church from all over the world who talk about how they live their faith and keep high standards in a world of diminishing values. I really like this one and I think you would enjoy watching it too. If you have any questions you can call this number and two missionaries will come and talk to you about it and answer your questions.”

It is so simple and everyone likes to watch videos! It is better than YouTube and they will come away feeling great! Or you can even pull it up on your phone or laptop or whatever cool technology y’all have! This is an amazing tool that probably isn’t being used enough! You can invite nonmembers over to the house for dinner and then watch a Mormon message and talk about it.

This is a time when the Lord truly is hastening his work. We all have a role to play in the gathering of Israel and the time is now! Open your mouth. The Lord will not allow you to embarrass Him, or His church. Now is the time to put fear behind us.

Highlights of the week:

I invited this lady to be baptized in the first lesson and she accepted! That was my first baptismal invitation to a real investigator (that came out of my mouth).

Sister Lewis and I talked about it after and she said that she felt impressed that we needed to invite her to be baptized too and that if I didn’t do it than she would have. I love experiences like that where we can see and know that the spirit told us to do something and we did it! Such a great feeling!

That happened later that day too. We went to try to visit a less active member. They weren’t home, but there was a lady across the street, so we went over to talk to her. She believes in Jesus Christ and we talked about Him and how some people just say they believe in Him and that they go to church, but they are just doing it for the praise of man. I asked her how she shows that she is truly following Christ, not just going through the motions. She cares so much about people and she loves them no matter what they do. She is very forgiving. I was so impressed with her!

We didn’t teach her a lesson or anything, I just opened the scriptures and shared one with her about letting our light shine. Mathew 5:14-16 and then we asked her more about herself. We got talking about sports and found out that she plays soccer and softball. We asked her when she would be playing because we would love to go to a game and see her play. She lit up at that and she looked pleasantly shocked. We got her number and gave her ours on a mormon.org card and told her about a video on there about a young man who is a member of our church and who plays Rugby.

Later in the evening, We got a few texts from her letting us know about games and stuff. Later, we got a text that said, ” Can you explain this…?” and she quoted the 10th article of faith. We set up a time that we can meet with her and answer her question.

I was so amazed! I have given out so many mormon.org cards, but never had anyone get back with us. she is the first person I know of that actually checked out the website! We studied this morning how we can best answer her question and also begin to teach her. It is so exciting to actually have investigators to study for!

This is the only true church on the earth today. Jesus Christ died for me, He died for you. Only through Him can we return to live with our Father in Heaven again. President Monson is called of God. I follow what he says. I align my will with his and his will is aligned with God’s will. Repentance works because of the Atonement which is personal and intimate and eternal! Agency is an eternal principle and commandments keep us free, they bless us and allow us to use our agency. Joseph Smith was and is a prophet of God. He saw God the Father and the Son. Christ’s church was restored through Him. The Book of Mormon is true, it is the word of God and man will get closer to God by abiding by its precepts than by any other book!

I love y’all so much and I just want y’all to know that I know that families can be together forever. FOREVER!!!!! I want all of my brothers and sisters to be with me. I want Brandyn and Bronson and Hollie and Jennie and Vincent and Kathy and Elisa and Melissa and Bethany and all y’all!

Let us share the gospel with those that we care about. Let us always be spreading and giving love. Let us every be kinder and softer and more forgiving with our words. This is God’s work and it cannot be frustrated. I love Him and I am so grateful for the knowledge which I have! Love y’all so much! Enjoy your week!

Thanks! All my love and congratulations!

Sister Anna Wright

Leave a Reply

