Anna’s 2nd day in the MTC

Dearest Family,                                          4/18/13

The gospel of Jesus Christ is all about LOVE.  The “L” word.  Yesterday after dinner, all of us new missionaries participated in a “teaching experience”.  We watched a scene where two missionaries (a Companionship) were allowed into a non-member’s “home” and began to try to teach.  Honestly, I was scared out of my mind, but as we began and everyone participated and we were guided and taught by the teacher, but more so, the Spirit, it became less scary.  By the end my companion and I both said that we were excited to jump in the next day and learn how to fulfill our purpose as missionaries of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints.  That purpose (something Andrew and Caleb and everyone else should memorize) is to invite others to come unto Christ by helping them receive the restored gospel through faith in Jesus Christ and His Atonement, repentance, baptism, receiving the gift of the Holy Ghost, and enduring to the end.

This purpose is so important because God loves His children so much and He wants to have them close to Him and get to know and trust Him, rely on Him.  Father is using me and all the other thousands of missionaries to reach His children!  I am so blessed and grateful to be a part of this work!

The truth from Sister Wright…the MTC is different than what I ever thought or imagined.  My companion is Sister Shattuck, a very sweet sister from St. George Utah.  Her family lives in Italy right now because her father is in the military.  We get along pretty well and we seem to be on the same page as far as study and teaching goes.  I love the way she listens to the Spirit and is so willing and anxious to learn, study and prepare as much as possible!  I feel like she echos how I feel, I just don’t quite know how to express it, or I don’t feel I could do it as well as she does, but I try to show my willingness and excitement and obedience through my actions.  In class today, Sister Gibson brought up Ether 12:27 (scripture mastery) and we read that, but then she said that it is well known and quoted a lot, but do people pay attention to the context?  It is Moroni telling his experience with the Lord.  Moroni is worried that the Gentiles will judge him because  he is weak in writing and asks the Lord for help.  The Lord tells him that he gives weak things unto men so that they will humble themselves and come unto Him, ask Him for help, and then He will make those weak things become strengths.  I am really trying to internalize this and apply it to my life (as Nephi teaches).  Right now I am a new missionary with very little knowledge or experience, but with a willing heart and mind to submit to the will of my father.  I feel like a little kid trying to learn to ride a bicycle.  I know that as I humble myself and start to prune my mind and heart of the doubts and fears, which only cripple and crush the soul, that my father will fulfill His promise, He will make me strong, and when I am strong I will only boast of my God!  I know that it is through my Savior and His Atonement that this is possible!

Last night was hard.  My mind was just geeking out!  I think I woke up just about every hour, maybe didn’t sleep at all…but I thought of each one of you and felt peace.  Ha! Kyli, I have two pillows that are pretty fluffy and it felt like I had “8 pillows”.  I kinda chuckled a bit!

(Kyli was teasing Anna before she left about how many pillows she sleeps with : )

The food is pretty good, not gonna lie, it’s a little awkward eating with someone you don’t know and don’t have much to talk about.  I am trying not to worry about what she thinks about me.  I just have to forget about myself and my weaknesses and love my companion and go to work.

I miss you guys, but not enough to make me cry, at least not yet.  I did have a little scare at  lunch today though.  There was a Sister who looked like Sarah.  The likeness was insane!  Totally siked me out for a second, but I am better now.  I do want you to know that I love you Sarah!  I love you all dearly!

Love, Sister Wright

Leave a Reply

